top of page

School Council

Mullum Primary School Council consists of parent/community members and school staff members, Department of Education and Training (DET) employees, who work together to support the Principal in running key aspects of the school. 


School Councils are established by an Order of the Minister for Education and have certain key functions including:


  • Finance - approving annual budgets, overseeing expenditure and financial record-keeping

  • Strategic Planning - developing the school’s strategic plan, monitoring and shaping future direction of the school, and

  • Policy Development and Review - developing, reviewing and publishing policies underpinning school values, expectations and requirements consistent with the strategic plan. 


School Councillors also have other important roles, including: Ambassadors for the school community and representatives who listen to and represent community views; Reporting annually to the community and DET; Raising funds for school projects; Entering into contracts with service providers; Facilitating after-school (OSH) care services; Marketing school services and events; and maintaining/improving buildings and grounds. 


We have a number of sub-committees specifically dedicated to a number of these aspects.  Sub-committee membership is open to all members of the school community and we encourage your involvement!


If you wish to join School Council, nominations/elections are held in March each year, with each member serving a two-year term. 


We meet at least twice per term (minimum 8 times per year) on a Monday night. 


Being a School Councillor is challenging, important and exciting work.  We encourage you to get involved!


Our 2024 Committee is:

Marie Beale Principal / DET Executive Officer


Parent councillors:

Erin Boyce President

Poonam Oberoi-Singh Vice-President

Mark Eames Treasurer

Bao Nguyen Parents' Association Rep

Olivia Van der Weyden

Emily Shafaati

DET councillors:

Jenny Verheijden

Fiona Pumpa​

Karen Hunsdale


For further information see:

bollards 2 (2).jpg



Poonam Oberoi-Singh


Mark Eames


Marie Beale Principal / DET Executive Officer

logo colour.PNG

Karen Hunsdale


Olivia Van der Weyden

Bao Nguyen profile pic.png

Bao Nguyen

Parents' Association Rep


Jenny Verheijden


Emily Shafaati


Fiona Pumpa

bottom of page